Sierra Club Honors OCWD Director Philip Anthony

The California Sierra Club Political Action Committee presented Orange County Water District (OCWD; the District) Director Philip L. Anthony with the California Taking the Lead Political Leadership Award. The award honored four environmental heroes from Democratic and Republican political parties who have worked and voted consistently to protect the environment in Los Angeles and Orange counties.

The award ceremony took place at the PAC’s fundraiser at the Huntington Beach Senior Center. OCWD’s General Manager Mike Markus was in attendance and accepted the award on Director Anthony’s behalf.

“I am honored to receive this award and I would like to express my sincere gratitude for the recognition,” said Director Anthony. “I’m a long-time resident of Orange County and have been active in both political and civic leadership for as long as I can remember. It’s been a true pleasure to serve the people of Orange County and I look forward to my continued service,” he added.  

As first vice president, Director Anthony, along with his fellow board members,  guides OCWD in managing three of Southern California’s greatest water supplies: the Santa Ana River, the Orange County Groundwater Basin and the Groundwater Replenishment System (GWRS). The GWRS is the world’s largest advanced water purification system for potable reuse. He also helps lead OCWD in managing and protecting the Santa Ana River Watershed through removal of nonnative invasive species, habitat restoration and wildlife management.

Director Anthony has served on OCWD’s board since 1981. He also serves as a director of the National Water Research Institute, commissioner of the Santa Ana Watershed Project Authority, a member of the Groundwater Replenishment System Steering Committee, and was formerly chair of the Association of California Water Agencies Region 10. He co-founded the Water Advisory Committee of Orange County, was a founding member of OCWD’s Groundwater Guardian Team, and has served on the Santa Ana River Flood Protection Agency since 1988.

Those additionally honored with Political Leadership Awards were California Assemblymember Laura Friedman, District 43; California Assemblymember Cristina Garcia, District 58; and Trustee, Coast Community College Board of Trustees, Lorraine Prinsky, Area 3.